What is “The Call to Be Catholic?”

This is an annual speakers series offering quality adult faith formation programs that feature highly competent and engaging speakers addressing substantive topics of keen interest to Catholics.

Who are the program sponsors?

There are four Steele County parishes that support the program—Sacred Heart (Owatonna), St. Joseph’s (Owatonna), Holy Trinity (Litomysl), and Christ the King (Medford).

What topics do the speakers address?

Some topics deal with core Catholic teachings (e.g., the Eucharist, the Bible, Papal Encyclicals).  Other topics explore current issues of keen interest to Catholics (e.g., Voting as a Catholic, Islam Confronts Christianity, the Da Vinci Code, Medical Ethics, etc.)

Who are the speakers?

Previous speakers have included professors from nearby Catholic colleges, well-known Catholic authors, personalities from Catholic radio/TV, representatives of national Catholic organizations, diocesan priests, and lay experts on particular subjects.

Do the speakers present authentic Catholic teachings?

Speakers are selected because they are highly competent in their fields and well-known for consistently teaching in conformity with the Magisterium and the Catechism of the Catholic Church.

Who can attend?

The programs are open to all Catholics, but the talks are geared to those of high school age and older.  Usually there are attendees not just from Owatonna but also from surrounding communities.

When and where are the programs held?

Typically the programs are held five times a year (Oct., Nov, Jan., Feb., & Mar.) on the second Sundays of the month at 3:00 p.m., alternating between Sacred Heart and St. Joseph’s parishes.

What does it cost to attend?

There is no charge.  However, we do suggest a free will offering to help defray expenses for refreshments and to pay a small honorarium to the speakers.

Who can I contact if I want to suggest a particular topic or speaker?

Contact any member of The Call To Be Catholic committee.  The committee has members from the Steele County parishes mentioned above.  Current committee members:

  • Sacred Heart –  Joe Stiles
  • St. Joseph’s   –  Deacon Pat Fagan
  • Holy Trinity  –  Rose Anne Kubicek
  • Christ the King –  Martha Arnold
  • Corpus Christi  –  Diane Sammon


For a current program listing,  click here.